Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version Overheating !

Club XM Forum > XM General Issues
frogsxm
Hi there

New to the site and i have a second hand 94 xm 2.0 turbo petrol. I have just returned from a wonderful 3 hour drive on the motorway with not a beat missed temp midrange to low then as soon as i hit London the temp went through the roof and began to overheat. Luckly i was pulling into my street.

As i am new to these cars i was hoping for some help ... Could it be a simple case of low water in the radiator? or the thermostat has given up the go ? . Seems strange as the car was terrific on the motorway and then hiss... sad.gif
techmanagain
Radiator fans probably not working. Check all relays which are probably mounted on panel over the top of the radiator. Corrosion is a certainty in that area.
frogsxm
Will do , hopefully thats all it is
frogsxm
No luck fans working ok checked fuses and coolent levels ok xm still getting hot any other thoughts bar the thermostat? wacko.gif
Craigdp
have you tried changeing the sender unit for the temp gauge
A'bientot
Craig
Peter.N.
If it runs at normal temperature when at speed but overheats in traffic, its all to do with the cooling efficiency of the radiator. You have a large volume of air being forced through the radiator at speed, this has to be compensated for by the fans when moving slowly. Have you allowed it to idle and checked at what temperature the fans come on? Either the fans are coming on to late ie. at to higher a temperature or the radiator has lost its efficiency either due to internal obstruction ie, furring up, or external obstruction due to the matrix being full of dead moths and leaves. If you leave the engine ticking over and the fan cuts in, will it pull the temperature down low enough for it to cut out again?

Peter.N.
frogsxm