Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version Advice For A Newbie

Club XM Forum > XM General Issues
Pages: 1, 2
oilburner
Hi

there's a 2.1td vsx estate locally for £600, which has had the following replaced.

Clutch
cambelt
suspension spheres

Drives nice, suspension appears to go up and down ok, fairly clean, however it has the following faults.

Speedo doesn't work
Electric sunroof doesn't work
drips very slightly from diesel fuel pump.

How hard are the faults to fix???, I'm a total XM novice (currently running a ZX!), and will it cost much, was thinking about having it fixed and checked over by somewhere like Chevronics (will it cost me an arm and a leg, will do easy diy but nothing to complex)

And ultimately do you think its worth me buying?

Cheers Geoff
Ciaran
A decent S2 2.1TD is a total snip at £600, I'd buy it. You really will struggle to get a car with anywhere near the spec, character, and load lugging capacity for that kind of money.

Those faults you describe are very minor in the grand scheme of XMs. Even the diesel pump drip could be just a seal, which can be replaced, or at very worst, the pump rebuilt. All things that you can find help and advice on, on this forum.

The speedo could be a number of things, as could the sunroof, but the likely candidate is the switch.
If the rest of the car looks clean (and its had that recent work done), I'd say its well worth having.

We have some real estate fans here, like Peter N and XmExc, see what they think smile.gif

Ciarán
roddew
Hi Oilburner,
a little further thought on the 3 things you mention that need fixing.
The sunroof problem is a common one, it can wait until you have time as long as it's shut. There is (or should be) a manual crank handle for emergencies-see the handbook.
Speedo should be fairly straightforward to fix-I have a seriesII instrument panel if you need parts.